Red Joan
Jennie Rooney
September 25, 2014
Reviewed by: Nancy

Joan is 85 years old when she is charged with espionage. A British citizen, she once passed top secret documents about atomic bomb research to the KGB during the war. To outsiders, even to her son, she is a traitor. Soon this elderly woman will be sent to prison for her crimes. A thought-provoking and insightful character study. 

Longbourn
Jo Baker
September 24, 2014
Reviewed by: Kristin

A unique retelling of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice from the point of view of the servants.  Seasoned readers of Jane Austen fan fiction may not appreciate this book, but it adds dimension to a much loved story, forcing the reader to consider the lives of the servants and marginalizing the trials and tribulations of the Bennetts in the process. The style feels "old-timey" and Sarah, the lead, occasionally evokes Hardy's Tess in her innocence and powerlessness over the world around her. While some readers will bemoan the discovery of flaws in their beloved Elizabeth, Longbourn shows us Elizabeth through the eyes of someone whose life is both simpler and much harder.

While Beauty Slept
Elizabeth Blackwell
September 23, 2014
Reviewed by: Tonia

This enchanting retelling of the Sleeping Beauty story follows the life of Elise, from her poor farming family to the riches of castle life, in this debut historical fiction by Elizabeth Blackwell.

Ancillary Justice
Ann Leckie
September 22, 2014
Reviewed by: Robin

This book has won every major SF award this year and for good reason.  An intriguing take on gender, time and what it means to be human. 

Emperor Pickletine Rides The Bus
Tom Angleberger
September 16, 2014
Reviewed by: Kris

The rebel alliance lead by Princess Labelmaker has won.  The students of McQuarrie Middle School are now going on the Washington D.C. trip they earned.  However, origami is not allowed on the trip.  It is a good thing Dwight brought along plenty of green fruit roll ups.  The force is still strong with book six in the popular Origami Yoda series.

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
David Shafer
September 10, 2014
Reviewed by: Robin

If you like a good dark comedy, this may be the book for you. Snarky, humorous tale about three thirty-somethings whose lives cross as they battle big data, boredom and becoming adults.  I would call this a techno thriller for fans of William Gibson or Chuck Palahniuk.

Stick Figure
Lori Gottlieb
September 5, 2014
Reviewed by: Desi

Stick Figure follows Lori Gottlieb through her battle with anorexia. The pressures to be thin, never say what you mean, or being seen as a weirdo are hilariously communicated through the journal entries of the 11- year old Lori. A powerful commentary on a nation obsessed with female body image and the conflicting messages society sends.

Shovel Ready
Adam Sternbergh
September 2, 2014
Reviewed by: Chrissie

New York City is a ghost of its former self after numerous terrorist attacks. Those who can afford it tap into an alternate reality known as the limnosphere, and the rest of the population must make a living any way they can. Shovel Ready follows a former garbageman turned hit man through this dark and gritty world. What choices will he have to make to follow his own code of rules?

Sharp Objects
Gillian Flynn
August 27, 2014
Reviewed by: Robin

You may recognize Flynn as the author of Gone Girl the phenomenal bestseller that is being made into a movie.  If you enjoyed her blockbuster or you just like dark psychological thrillers, try Sharp Objects. Camille's story is every bit as twisted and good writing to boot.

A Touch of Blue
Cynthia Lord
August 21, 2014
Reviewed by: Desi

I really loved the way the author dealt with cobbling together a family. This is an excellent book about foster children from the perspective of a child who's receiving a foster child into their home.